Folder Mileage and Vintage Issues

7/22.2012 — I was working with two versions of this post, simultaneously, in WordPress (bad idea, BTW), and didn’t realize that I’d published a garbled draft until I saw it in my RSS feed. This is the correct version.  I hope.

On an overcast day, with rain expected, I took Arianna out, since the electric components of Pegasus, my pedal-assist trike, aren’t waterproof.  This was Arianna’s second trip, a ten-mile excursion meant to test my stamina and hers.  One of us didn’t quite make the grade; at about mile 4, I stopped for a drink of water, stepped on a pedal, and snapped it off.  I didn’t have a camera ready, so didn’t take a picture of the damage, but here’s the pedal in question:

I was crushed.  One minute I was cruising along, effortlessly, and the next it looked as if I’d be headed home.  Worse, I wondered if the damage was fixable.  Apparently, the bolt holding the pedal had loosened quickly; when checked at the time the tires were replaced, all had appeared well.  At some point, though, the stem unscrewed sufficiently to allow the pedal to pull out of the crank when stepped upon,  damaging the threads on the crank. As a result, I wasn’t able to screw the pedal back into place.

At the bike shop I learned that replacement pedals that closely resemble Arianna’s originals are available, though, sadly, in black, rather than Arianna’s white. The shop had a pair similar to these:

Although I was glad that an vintage-appearing replacement was available, they’re not the same. Presumably, too, the replacements are vinyl, not true rubber, which is a much nicer material. I love Arianna’s white rubber, and bright yellow reflectors:

Replacing the crank was of greater concern, as it is a now uncommon style (cottered) and size. The threads on Arianna’s pedal appeared to be undamaged, though, so the shop agreed to try tapping the crank, and inserting new threads, in the hope of saving the original assembly.

This was an outing with a companion; I was not willing to give up the excursion, so I rode the remainder of the mileage with only the one pedal in place.  Since I was wearing minimalist shoes (Merrill Barefoot Pace Gloves), I was able to grab, just barely, the damaged crank,  with the flexible sole on my left foot, and half-pedal the crank even though there was no actual pedal to use.  The process was a bit grueling, but worth the tribulation, for the pleasure of being out.

Arianna:  10 miles

Black pedal image from AAWYEAH

Leave a Comment

