Mileage Report 12

There was a bit of a low ceiling today, but lots of blue sky now and then:

I didn’t want to stop riding, so I added an errand or two onto my run at the end., and just fiddled around a bit in general.

Took a brief turn past a local park.  Gotta love how even small parks in our area have enticing paths meandering over the grounds.  I didn’t ride on this particular one; it’s really best for pedestrians, but appreciated how inviting it looked:

Today was unusual because I encountered more hazards, of various types, than I usually do.  First up was was a mother on a trail who was pushing a huge empty double stroller, with at least five, and maybe more, young children with her.  More, anyway, than she was keeping track of.  I approached facing her and the kids, descending a steep slope from a curve.  Mama smiled benignly, moving the stroller to the edge of the trail, with the kids apparently moving aside with her.

Except that there was a very small child — probably about two years old —  who wandered away from the others, toward my side of the path from behind the adult.  Mama apparently had no clue where this child was.  (And I had no way of knowing the child was there, hidden as she was, behind Mama, several other kids, and the stroller!)

It goes without saying that a child that young should have been in front of Mama, doesn’t it?  I was alert; I saw the toddler, but if it had been my kid, I would have preferred not to trust my child’s fate to the cyclist.

Later, on another park trail, I rang my incredibly noisy bell over and over, but failed to attract the attention of a half-dozen 12 or 13 year old girls who were wandering on and off the asphalt trail  without paying any attention to where they were.  I finally screamed “Watch Out!” at the top of my voice, at which point several of the more alert kids pulled the oblivious ones off the path.  I’m going to go on record as believing that it’s a good thing when older kids have to notice what’s happening around them.  Adolescence is a tough time; learning that there are others in the world is a good survival skill.

Lessons for me Always be ready to stop.  Adults can be surprisingly stupid about their responsibilities, and kids are never responsible.

Also experienced a different kind of road hazard, due to a block of repair patches in town that were covered with small, even, bits of gravel which stuck in Pegasus’s tire treads.  I stopped and spun the tires, one by one, displacing the pebbles.  There weren’t too many in the rear tires, but a bunch had stuck in the front, and I could hear them clicking once we were back on smooth pavement.  It didn’t seem like a good idea to let them embed themselves permanently in the rubber.

30.81 miles, 14 mph wind, 77 degrees, mixed suburban, city, semi-rural.

Total recorded mileage for season: 270.64

Leave a Comment

