Not Impressed, EMS

Fewer than a half-dozen wearings, and the pocket of one pair of my cycling shorts has pulled apart:

Why?  Since I sew, I can tell you exactly why:  Eastern Mountain Sports didn’t require that the raw edge of the fabric be properly finished.  These synthetics unravel like mad if not treated properly, and the person who sewed this pair cut the seam allowance too close.  Since the fabric was not treated to prevent raveling, the pocket lining just went to pieces.

Acceptable in a $25 pair of Target shorts?  Sure.  On a pair of $75  EMS cycling shorts?  Umm, no.

Otherwise, I love these shorts.  I sew; I’ll repair them.  But I’m not impressed.

Leave a Comment

